Communications‎ > ‎

SMS Students Earns Place in All-State Chorus

posted Oct 23, 2018, 4:57 AM by The School District of Oconee County, SC
In the life of a teenager, the passage of just a few months can seem like a lifetime.  For a very talented group of Seneca Middle School students, the months between learning they had been selected for the elite All-State Chorus and the actual All-State event not only seemed lengthy but also saw roughly half complete their last year at Seneca Middle and move on to the ninth grade at Seneca High School.  The All-State Chorus audition and selection process starts in the spring yet the clinic and concert don't take place until October; thus the departure of those moving on to high school.  For Seneca Middle School Chorus Director Carla Brock, they will always be "her" students.  She gladly still oversaw the travel and participation of both the Seneca Middle and Seneca High School delegations to Charleston for the All-State clinic and concert in early October.  She said of the event, "This year's All-State conductors were extremely inspiring and gave our students an extraordinary experience.  Our kids worked very hard and had a blast."

The large number who qualified from Seneca Middle School tied for the second most from any school in the state only trailing a magnet school for the arts.  The current Seneca Middle School students who qualified for All-State Chorus are:  Luke Bleuel, Drake Denney, Isaiah Glenn, Mary Alice Harben, Sean Hoffman, Dalton Land, Jack Lee, Madelyn LeRoy, Megan McConnell, Emma Padgett, Delane Rosemond, Olivia Sires, and Stella Smith.  The group now at Seneca High School are:  Kristen Brown, Payton Burkett, Camille Ellenburg, Nicole Feagan, Kaidence Hamm, Brooke Lindsey, Nick Mack, Amari McCalope, Anais Puffer, Corbin Shirley, Connor Sluder, and Donovan Williams.  Two additional students also qualified while at Seneca Middle School but have since moved to a new school district.

Back row:  Luke Bleuel, Madelyn LeRoy, Jack Lee, Dalton Land, Olivia Sires, Stella Smith and Isaiah Glenn; Front row:  Delane Rosemond, Sean Hoffman, Megan McConnell, Drake Denney, Emma Padgett and Mary Alice Harben