Communications‎ > ‎

36th Annual Tornado Safety Poster Contest Winners

posted Mar 11, 2021, 10:19 AM by The School District of Oconee County, SC   [ updated Mar 11, 2021, 10:21 AM ]
Tornado Safety Poster contest winner

1st - 3rd grade winners4th & 5th grade winners

The School District of Oconee County would like to congratulate the winners of the  36th Annual Tornado Safety Poster Contest conducted by Oconee County Emergency Services.  Bailey Moore, a Ravenel Elementary School 2nd grader, was selected as the overall winnerThe goal of the contest is to help educate students and the community on the dangers of tornadoes and protective actions that should be taken in the event of a tornado in their area. The winning posters will be displayed in the County Administrative Building through mid April. 

All winners received a weather alert radio in addition to a cash prize.  First place winners received $50; second place received $35;  and honorable mention winners  received $20. The Overall Grand Prize Winner also received an emergency supply kit. The winners are listed by grade level as follows:

1st Grade

Ciara Aparicio: 1st Place (Tamassee-Salem Elementary)

Karissa Smith: 2nd Place (Tamassee-Salem Elementary)


2nd Grade

Bailey Moore: 1st Place (Ravenel Elementary)

Joseph Bouldin: 2nd Place (Blue Ridge Elementary)

Madeline Bradley: Honorable Mention (Ravenel Elementary)

3rd Grade

Evan Smith: 1st Place (Keowee Elementary)

Keeley Bright: 2nd Place (Keowee Elementary)

Jason Harman: Honorable Mention (Keowee Elementary)


4th Grade

Sadie Tyler: 1st Place (Keowee Elementary)

Swaylyn Carranza: 2nd Place (Keowee Elementary)

Riley Donald: Honorable Mention (Keowee Elementary)


5th Grade

Kylie James: 1st Place (Orchard Park Elementary)

Valerin Hernandez: 2nd Place (James M. Brown Elementary)

Riley Medlin: Honorable Mention (James M. Brown Elementary)